Books

6 Books To Read If You Like Mystery

6 Books To Read If You Like Mystery - Just Murrayed

I’m currently reading The Girl on the Train in preparation for the movie in October. So far, it’s great! It got me thinking about some of my favourite mystery books. Most of these books are different types of mysteries. Some are plain mystery books, some are thrillers, some feature women, some don’t, some are by Canadian mystery writers and some aren’t. I like a wide variety of mystery books for different reasons and at different times, just depends on what I’m feeling like at that very moment.

The books I’ve listed are my favourite books by some of my favourite authors. Enjoy!

All The Missing Girls by Megan Miranda
Nicolette comes back to her hometown to help her brother sell their family home after she left 10 years ago right after her best friend Corinne disappeared. Nicolette is soon plunged into a second disappearance of another girl 10 years after Corinne went missing.

Fear the Worst by Linwood Barclay
Tim Blake’s desperate search for his daughter leads him into a dark world of corruption, exploitation, and murder. Tim Blake is about to learn that the people you think you know best are the ones keeping the biggest secrets.

How I Lost You by Jenny Blackhurst
Susan Webster has spent the past three years in a psychiatric institute after killing her baby in an attack she doesn’t remember. With a new identity and lots of guilt Susan is released and moves to a place where no one knows her apart from a fellow inmate That is until Susan, now Emma, gets an envelope at her door addressed to Susan and inside is a picture of her son at his current age. She’s never remembered that awful day, could someone be lying or has she really gone crazy?

Kiss the Girls by James Patterson
In Los Angeles, a crime reporter investigating a murder is killed. In North Carolina, a medical intern suddenly disappears. In Washington D.C. Alex Cross is back to solve the most terrifying murder case ever. Two clever pattern killers are collaborating, cooperating, competing – and they are working coast to coast.

The Concrete Blonde by Michael Connelly
Detective Harry Bosch thought he’d stopped the serial killer known as the Dollmaker. Now the dead man’s widow is suing Harry and the LAPD for shooting the wrong man – an accusation that rings true when a new female victim is discovered with the Dollmaker’s unique killing signature.

That Night by Chevy Stevens
As a teenager, Toni and her boyfriend, Ryan, were convicted of the murder of her sister and sent to prison.

Now thirty-four, Toni, is out on parole and back in her hometown, struggling to adjust to a new life on the outside. Prison changed her but she’s doing everything she can to avoid violating her parole and going back. But nothing is making that easy―not Ryan, who is convinced he can figure out the truth; not her mother, who doubts Toni’s innocence; and certainly not the group of women who made Toni’s life hell in high school and may have darker secrets than anyone realizes. No matter how hard she tries, ignoring her old life to start a new one is impossible. Before Toni can truly move on, she must find out what really happened that night.

So tell me, have you read any of these? What are your favourite mystery books? Do you read one specific type of mystery or do you read varied mystery books? Have you read The Girl on the Train?

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “6 Books To Read If You Like Mystery

  1. I’m going to have to check these out. I honestly didn’t think I liked mystery till I read The Girl on the Train, but I loved that one so now I’m dying to try more!

    Like

    1. I would definitely recommend Chevy Stevens books. She’s a Canadian author whose main characters are woman and they are more psychological thrillers similar to The Girl on the Train or Gone Girl but a bit simpler. Her first book Still Missing is still my favourite but I loved That Night as well.

      Like

    1. If you like mystery and if I can tell you what to do – I’d start with the That Night, Chevy Stevens is my favourite Canadian author and I love that she focuses on women as her main characters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s